Our Team

Meet the SRC faculty, staff, students, and associates.

Who We Are

The SRC team is made up of University of Miami faculty, staff and students from a variety of disciplines, including science, communication, law, education and engineering. The core science is overseen by faculty, but PhD students provide the projects from which specific research and educational activities are based. UM undergraduates work on projects as part of their academic degree requirements or for volunteer internships. Student interns are the backbone of the program, playing a major role in helping carry out activities, training and leading high school student participants in the field, lab, and classrooms. In making waves, SRC is lucky to partner with exceptional scientists, policy makers, journalists and educators.

Faculty & Staff

  • Neil Hammerschlag, Ph.D. Director, Shark Research & Conservation Program; Research Assistant Professor, Rosenstiel School – RSMAS and Abess Center for Ecosystem Science
  • Stephen Cain, Assistant director, Shark Research & Conservation Program – RSMAS
  • Evan D’Alessandro, Ph.D. Broad Key Manager; Masters of Professional Science Advisor, Rosenstiel School – RSMAS
  • Diego Lirman, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Rosenstiel School – RSMAS, Rescue a Reef
  • Stephanie Schopmeyer, Senior Research Associate II, Rosenstiel School – RSMAS, Rescue a Reef
  • Liza Merly, Ph.D. Lecturer – RSMAS
  • Dalton Hesley – RSMAS, Rescue a Reef

SRC Ph.D. Students

  • Rachel Skubel, Abess Center for Ecosystem Science; Shark Research & Conservation Program

SRC Masters Students

  • Emily Nelson – RSMAS MS Student, Intern coordinator
  • Robbie Roemer – RSMAS MS Student
  • Leila Atallah Benson – RSMAS MS Student
  • Shannon Moorhead – RSMAS MS Student, Social media manager

SRC Interns

  • Josh Liberman – SRC photographer
  • Nicole Lin – SRC photographer, UM graduate student
  • Gammon Koval – UM undergraduate student, SRC photographer, Co-media manager
  • Alex Anstett – UM undergraduate student, SRC Photographer, Co-media manager
  • Jeff Palumbo – RSMAS, MPS student, SRC Photographer
  • Christopher Schenker – UM undergraduate student, SRC photographer
  • Rock Evans – RSMAS, MPS graduate
  • Brenna Bales – UM undergraduate student
  • Abby Tinari – UM undergraduate student
  • Trish Albano – UM undergraduate student, Public outreach coordinator
  • Casey Dresbach – UM undergraduate student, Fundraising coordinator
  • Amanda Stoltz – Program evaluator
  • Andy Fragola – RSMAS, MPS student
  • Arina Favilla – SRC undergraduate student
  • Kevin Reagan – UM undergradute student
  • David Lestino – RSMAS, MPS student
  • Tim Hogan – UM undergraduate student
  • Elana Rusnak – UM undergraduate student
  • Jennifer Simms – Program evaluator
  • Josh Ratay – UM undergraduate student
  • Lauren Katayama – Program evaluator
  • Molly Rickles – UM undergraduate student
  • Nicolas Lubitz – UM undergraduate student
  • Nicole Suren – UM undergraduate student
  • Schuyler Weiss – UM undergraduate student
  • Tatum Nugent – UM undergradaute student, Media intern

Associates of SRC

  • Austin Gallagher, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Researcher, Carleton University Adjunct Assistant Professor, University of Miami Visiting Scientist, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
  • Pat Goebel, Nova Southeastern University, MS
  • Cameron Perry, Nova Southeastern University, MS
  • Lindsay Jennings, UM graduate
  • Natascha Wosnick, Universidade Federal do Paraná
  • Julia Whidden – Acadia University, Canadian Fulbright Student
  • Jake Jerome, MS graduate
  • Alison Enchelmaier, MS graduate
  • Hannah Calich, MS graduate